Edo de Waart, Pinchas Zukerman

Two more CSO concerts in the books. 1) Maestro Edo de Waart conducting Mozart’s Turkish Concerto featuring violinist Augustin Hadelich as soloist, and 2) Maestro Pinchas Zukerman conducting Mozart & playing Bach and Telemann.

I hadn’t seen de Waart conduct before, so this would be the first time seeing de Waart in action. I thought his command of the John Adams piece was perfect – de Waart is known for championing Adams’ more contemporary work. Plus, I had a seat on the terrace, so I could get a closer look at de Waart conducting the orchestra. I had never been on the terrace before – I’ve only been on the main floor at Symphony Center – so it was also a cool experience to see the entire hall and audience from the orchestra’s perspective. Augustin Hadelich, the violinist who played the Turkish Concerto was great as well; his encore was the Paganini Caprice No. 5, which showcased his advanced technical skills on the violin. Additionally, after the performance, I got to meet Maestro de Waart! He was kind enough to sign my program and take a photo with me.

Pinchas Zukerman is known for his incredible violin playing, but his playing of the viola and his conducting are also pretty good. The CSO was scaled down to a smaller ensemble for the Baroque pieces, and it was interesting to hear the overture to the Magic Flute/Mozart’s Symphony No. 39 played this way. Nevertheless, it was a strong performance, and I was glad to get the chance to see Zukerman play the violin and viola live!

Leave a Reply

