Summer 2016: Vienna, Day 1

So I’ve been a bit behind on blogging unfortunately – the wifi in Vienna wasn’t very good, so I didn’t get the chance to update as regularly as I would have liked. Now that I’m in Salzburg and the wifi seems to be working better, I can share some of my experiences from the past couple of days! Here’s my entry for day 1 of the trip—

Well… I finally made it to Vienna, Austria! This is my first time in Europe and I’ll be spending a total of five days here in Vienna before heading off to Salzburg. I didn’t really get any sleep on the flight (babies are too loud…), so I ended up watching four movies to pass the time. As a result, I didn’t have a lot of energy to do a whole lot on the first day, but I did get to see a couple of cool things!

Highlights include:

  • Dinner at Griechenbeisl, where I enjoyed a nice Viennese sirloin and saw the famed Mark Twain room, which features signatures from Mozart, Beethoven, Johann Strauss Jr., Richard Strauss, Wagner, and in addition to many other great musicians, (a very familiar individual to me)…Riccardo Muti!! Technically, the room was closed off due to a large group reservation, but luckily when my sister and I got there, the group hadn’t arrived yet, so the staff let us in and gave us a small tour of the room 😀 We signed the guest book afterwards and joined the other thousands of individuals who has dined at this historical establishment.
  • Music Film Festival at Rathausplatz, where an audience of hundreds of people (tourists and locals) gathered to listen to an old performance of Mozart’s Violin Concerto No. 5, with soloist Yehudi Menuhin and conductor Herbert von Karajan, as well as a more recent performance of Mahler’s 7th Symphony with Pierre Boulez and the Royal Concertgebouw. The weather was absolutely perfect – a cool and windy 60 degrees – and witnessing Karajan/Menuhin up close with high definition visuals and surround sound was a great way to conclude the first night in Vienna. Karajan, of course, was a beloved figure in Vienna and it was still evident through the obvious admiration of Karajan from the many people who came to watch the film. I wish things like this happened in Chicago – it definitely promotes history and culture, and brings people from all places together to enjoy good music.

That’s it for today – much more to do tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

