’17-’18 CSO season announced!

Finished with the first round of midterms of winter quarter today, and right when I come back from my thermo class, I find out that the new CSO season has been announced! Lots of awesome music scheduled (no opera unfortunately 😦 ), but Maestro Muti conducting Rossini’s Stabat Mater is totally fine with me. But, the absolute best part when I read through the announcement is that he’s conducting Strauss’ suite, Le bourgeois gentilhomme (Der Bürger als Edelmann), which I heard him conduct at the Salzburg Festival last summer with the Vienna Philharmonic – it’s become one of my favorite pieces and I’m always listening to a recording of it, conducted by Tennstedt (not many recordings of it exist unfortunately). Funny thing is in that blog post from months ago, I actually asked if Maestro Muti would bring the piece to Chicago – glad to see my predictions coming true haha 😀

The offerings for the new season are listed here: http://cso.org/globalassets/tickets-and-events-blocks/2017-18_season_catalog.pdf

 

Leave a Reply

